Shooting the old Nikon D70 – street photography

Hi friends,

Sorry for disappearing again for quite a while. My life and my daily activites were changed after I quited my job few months ago. Right now, I’m still trying to get used to the new ones.

Yesterday (November 27th, 2011), I received my ‘Mayor cup’, a certificate and some cash prize, for winning 1st place in the ‘colors of the Jakarta old city photo competition’. You have to submit your photos to be selected as 1 of the 10 finalists, then you have to do some more shooting in the area in the final round (on the spot). So, I used a Panasonic GF-1 with Olympus 14-42mm lens, plus a Nissin Di866 mark II speedlite (for Sony). The photos submitted were not allowed to be processed in any ways, they had to be straight out of the camera. That’s exactly what I love about these kind of competitions. LOL!

Okay, now we’ re back to the main topic of the day again, these are a few shots I made on November 20th, 2011. I used a Nikon D70 and Tokina 35mm f/2.8 macro lens for the whole shots. Why did I use such an old camera you’ld probably asked?

My very first DSLR camera was one with CMOS sensor, and I absolutely hated that camera after 2-3 months of use. Then, I bought a CCD sensor camera which was a used Nikon D70s. Since then, I fell in love with Nikon, because Nikon used CCD sensors. Now, I’m out of love again. LOL!

Well, a few weeks ago, I got a Nikon D70 from a friend, who already bought the newest Nikon (with CMOS sensor, of course! Hahaha!). Then, he decided to let go of his Nikon D70. I took this advantage to be once again in love with Nikon. It worked! LOL!

Enjoy and please leave any comments as you wish.

Thank you.

2 responses to “Shooting the old Nikon D70 – street photography

  1. Another great series of street photography: I like the blue wall with the rag and the rust spots; the ladder and the blue wall–speaks to me; and the red wood structure–it looks like a sculpture.

Leave a Reply

